1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Model Shadow Problem in Simulator

Discussion in '3D Objects General' started by MANOCHVARMA RAMAN, 17 May 2017.

  1. MANOCHVARMA RAMAN

    MANOCHVARMA RAMAN

    Joined:
    12 Jan 2016
    Messages:
    211
    Country:
    malaysia
    Hi,

    I am having some problem with light plane which casting shadow.

    I have checked No shadow in FSX/P3D Material Params but still the planes casting shadow.

    Approach light:
    Screenshot (80).png

    Taxi Edge Light:

    Screenshot (81).png

    Settings:

    Params 1.PNG Paramas.PNG

    Hope anyone can help on this.

    Thanks,
    Manochvarma Raman
     
  2. dave hoeffgen

    dave hoeffgen Resource contributor

    Joined:
    16 Sep 2014
    Messages:
    1,109
    Country:
    germany
    does that only happen in P3D?
    It has a setting for no shadow tagged content to cast a shadow anyway.
    Is that one unticked?
     
  3. MANOCHVARMA RAMAN

    MANOCHVARMA RAMAN

    Joined:
    12 Jan 2016
    Messages:
    211
    Country:
    malaysia
    Yes, in FSX there is no problem with it.

    In which section is no shadow tagged content to cast a shadow setting is? I couldn't find it.
     
  4. dave hoeffgen

    dave hoeffgen Resource contributor

    Joined:
    16 Sep 2014
    Messages:
    1,109
    Country:
    germany
    Open the P3D settings and choose the "Lighting" section. The right half is about shadows and the last checkbox says "noShadow tagged content".
    This should be off.
    Not sure why that option is even included. The noShadow flag is usually swet for a reason after all :p
     
  5. MANOCHVARMA RAMAN

    MANOCHVARMA RAMAN

    Joined:
    12 Jan 2016
    Messages:
    211
    Country:
    malaysia
    Thanks Dave, it solved the light plane shadow casting problem in P3D. All model cast shadow perfectly.

    Screenshot (89).png


    Another one issue in P3D, why all the models are floating few inches from the ground?

    Screenshot (87).png Screenshot (88).png Screenshot (90).png

    Blender View:
    All are align with x axis at 0m.

    Screenshot (91).png
     
  6. edphipps

    edphipps

    Joined:
    10 May 2011
    Messages:
    716
    Country:
    us-florida
    Your models should be aligned at 0 meters on the "Z" axis. Check this as it could cause the problem you are seeing.
     
  7. =rk=

    =rk=

    Joined:
    28 Nov 2009
    Messages:
    1,476
    Country:
    us-washington
    I have discovered an elevation discrepancy between P3D and FSX for objects that are modeled and compiled for FSX that otherwise render as intended in P3D v3, so you might want to check your compiler. Re-compiling the scenery objects with the P3D SDK does not remove the offset, but it can be adjusted with scenery placement software and the offset is roughly equivalent to what the OP describes. I place all my scenery objects manually for both P3D and FSX and so the only time I encounter this elevation difference is when I am editing an established FSX scenery to work in P3D and not every placed object has been affected. in fact, for my most recent scenery project, only one ground polygon line was displaced as a result of compiling the scenery for FSX and loading it in P3D. Adjusting the one polygon and recompiling the AI traffic .bgl with the P3D SDK were all that was necessary to make that particular FSX scenery fully compatible with P3D v3.
     
  8. MANOCHVARMA RAMAN

    MANOCHVARMA RAMAN

    Joined:
    12 Jan 2016
    Messages:
    211
    Country:
    malaysia
    Which z-axis do you mean? If you are referring to the "transform" location z-axis, then you are wrong since the 3D cursor is at middle of the object where it is 1.75016m above the x-axis.
     
  9. MANOCHVARMA RAMAN

    MANOCHVARMA RAMAN

    Joined:
    12 Jan 2016
    Messages:
    211
    Country:
    malaysia
    The problem can be found even in fsx too:

    2.PNG 1.PNG

    I tried parenting all the object and make it align with axis:
    Screenshot (95).png
     
  10. dave hoeffgen

    dave hoeffgen Resource contributor

    Joined:
    16 Sep 2014
    Messages:
    1,109
    Country:
    germany
    could you give a rough outline how large the models are?
    Depending on how far what we see is from the model's reference point this can be caused by the earth curvature.
     
  11. MANOCHVARMA RAMAN

    MANOCHVARMA RAMAN

    Joined:
    12 Jan 2016
    Messages:
    211
    Country:
    malaysia
    For the ILS buiding, the model is around 45m in length and 6m in height.
    The taxi edge light is around 2.2 km for the runway.
     
  12. dave hoeffgen

    dave hoeffgen Resource contributor

    Joined:
    16 Sep 2014
    Messages:
    1,109
    Country:
    germany
    So for the taxi light it seems obvious but when you are close to the reference point in the sim it should touch the ground. Does it?

    Is the ILS Building a seperate object that stands on the reference point? Or is the reference point somewhere off?
     
  13. MANOCHVARMA RAMAN

    MANOCHVARMA RAMAN

    Joined:
    12 Jan 2016
    Messages:
    211
    Country:
    malaysia
    I'm not sure, will check this out.

    Yes, ILS Building is a separate object that stands on the reference point. But after done the earth curve correction for ILS Building, it is placed on the ground. I will try the same way for the taxi edge light and update the result to you here.

    ILS Building.png

    Screenshot (98).png
     
  14. MANOCHVARMA RAMAN

    MANOCHVARMA RAMAN

    Joined:
    12 Jan 2016
    Messages:
    211
    Country:
    malaysia
    Hi Dave,

    After done the earth curve correction for taxi edge light, the model touches the ground in FSX.

    Screenshot (101).png


    But in P3D, the base of the taxi edge light sinks on the asphalt.

    Screenshot (102).png

    Screenshot (104).png
     
  15. dave hoeffgen

    dave hoeffgen Resource contributor

    Joined:
    16 Sep 2014
    Messages:
    1,109
    Country:
    germany
    But it looks like it shows OK besides the asphalt in P3D. So it's the ground poly. Not sure why though
     
  16. MANOCHVARMA RAMAN

    MANOCHVARMA RAMAN

    Joined:
    12 Jan 2016
    Messages:
    211
    Country:
    malaysia
    Yes, it is perfect on the ground. Just sink on the asphalt.

    Edit:
    I found that I forgot to enter the altitude in MCX. After putting the right value, it work perfectly.
     
    Last edited: 19 May 2017
  17. MANOCHVARMA RAMAN

    MANOCHVARMA RAMAN

    Joined:
    12 Jan 2016
    Messages:
    211
    Country:
    malaysia
    I came across with shadow problem in FSX.

    Actually the shadow does appear but only when it is far from the model (See images below). I am not sure why it is happening so.

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
  18. MANOCHVARMA RAMAN

    MANOCHVARMA RAMAN

    Joined:
    12 Jan 2016
    Messages:
    211
    Country:
    malaysia
    Based on this suggestion, I tried with my approach light for shadow problem.

    What i found is, the shadow actually appear but because of the earth curvature, it is hidden. I simply placed the model nearer to the origin (0,0,0) of my blender file and export to .mdl then do earth curve correction. But it still like that. I have tried 1st and 3rd option in the Earth Curve Editor (image below) but no luck. The shadow disappear when moving away from the origin.

    Earth.PNG

    Around 20m from origin:

    Screenshot (122).png

    Around 50m from :
    Screenshot (124).png

    around 100m from origin:
    Screenshot (125).png

    I don't know is there any other way to correct the earth curvature for this issue.
     
  19. MANOCHVARMA RAMAN

    MANOCHVARMA RAMAN

    Joined:
    12 Jan 2016
    Messages:
    211
    Country:
    malaysia
    Today I discovered a new info. I remove the flatten polygon from ADE and try load the models in SIM. The shadow is few inches below than the model. Is this how the shadow form?

    Screenshot (128).png

    Screenshot (129).png

    Screenshot (130).png
     
  20. dave hoeffgen

    dave hoeffgen Resource contributor

    Joined:
    16 Sep 2014
    Messages:
    1,109
    Country:
    germany
    as simple: shadows are casted onto terrain, terain is not even so the model floats, so for some logical resaon the shadows are off.
     

Share This Page