• Which the release of FS2020 we see an explosition of activity on the forun and of course we are very happy to see this. But having all questions about FS2020 in one forum becomes a bit messy. So therefore we would like to ask you all to use the following guidelines when posting your questions:

    • Tag FS2020 specific questions with the MSFS2020 tag.
    • Questions about making 3D assets can be posted in the 3D asset design forum. Either post them in the subforum of the modelling tool you use or in the general forum if they are general.
    • Questions about aircraft design can be posted in the Aircraft design forum
    • Questions about airport design can be posted in the FS2020 airport design forum. Once airport development tools have been updated for FS2020 you can post tool speciifc questions in the subforums of those tools as well of course.
    • Questions about terrain design can be posted in the FS2020 terrain design forum.
    • Questions about SimConnect can be posted in the SimConnect forum.

    Any other question that is not specific to an aspect of development or tool can be posted in the General chat forum.

    By following these guidelines we make sure that the forums remain easy to read for everybody and also that the right people can find your post to answer it.

Search results

  1. R

    Adding a water effect to my scenery object.

    Hi all. I have created a Heli dam for FSX se and I would like to add water to my dam but not sure how to go about it. Is anyone able to point me in the right direction on how to create a water effect similar to the small ponds you see in fsx se scenery. Regards Rhys
  2. R

    Newbie question regarding Blender 3.6.0

    Pipes Away!!! Thanks Doug re made the pipe and followed you last guide and texture is showing up. Still have that transparency issue but now I am on the home straight. Thanks heaps Rhys
  3. R

    Newbie question regarding Blender 3.6.0

    Hi Thanks Doug. Now I have the export to mdl sorted the texture side of things is proving a challenge. I searched you tube and came across lots of blender texturing and uv editing clips which I used to apply my texture correctly to my object, but they didn't mention dds dxt1 or getting...
  4. R

    Newbie question regarding Blender 3.6.0

    Hi Doug Im using gimp, here are the textures The textures aren't converted to dds Rhys
  5. R

    Newbie question regarding Blender 3.6.0

    Thanks Doug My model exports and shows up in the sim but the texture are not showing. As you can see in the image the textures are transparent at the bottom. I have followed the folder structure of the other lift able objects .I apply the texture in blender and they show on the pipe the images...
  6. R

    Newbie question regarding Blender 3.6.0

    Hi I think maybe I am on the right track. select uv editing Exported uv to png save file then, open file in paint or other program place textures on png file save. In blender click material, base color select image texture and hopefully done Question> Should I save the image as a bitmap...
  7. R

    Newbie question regarding Blender 3.6.0

    Hi Thank you and Dave for your help. I really appreciate your patience and your time to help me out You can see in my image that the pipes are transparent at the bottoms. Obviously its a texture issue. I am not sure how to go about setting the size of my texture to correspond to the size...
  8. R

    Newbie question regarding Blender 3.6.0

    Thanks Dave Next learning curve is textures Rhys
  9. R

    Newbie question regarding Blender 3.6.0

    Thanks Dave and Doug After following the above reply at last some success thank you. The texture side of process I still need to get my head around, but getting there slowly. Cheers Rhys
  10. R

    Newbie question regarding Blender 3.6.0

    Hi Doug Thank you for your help and patience on this matter Un installed the sdk and blender installed the sdk first ,blender than the tool set. Tried to export the cub untextured and got this error message I have screen shoot the blender window to show the toolset installed Regards Rhys
  11. R

    Newbie question regarding Blender 3.6.0

    Hi Doug They are two separate files. I have not done any real 3d modeling. In the early days I played with gmax but didn't create anything just had a play around with the software. I have zipped the files. The texture files included are probably not the right texture size, they are just a...
  12. R

    Newbie question regarding Blender 3.6.0

    Hi Doug Thanks for all your help on this but but still no luck, still getting an error message and the only file a have a created is a .X file I only want to create two simple objects. One is a log 6 meters long and 250mm in diameter and a pipe 7 meters long and a diameter of 500 mm and 2 cm...
  13. R

    Newbie question regarding Blender 3.6.0

    Thanks Doug Where can I find the the options menu as shown in your above post, looked in the preference menu but cant find it Cheers Rhys
  14. R

    Newbie question regarding Blender 3.6.0

    Hi Doug Thank you for the reply. I have blender on a second computer and using that for modeling. While the second PC does not have fsx se installed I do have the sdk in the (86x) program folder. I had a try at re exporting the cube this time I navigated to the / Lockheed martin...
  15. R

    Newbie question regarding Blender 3.6.0

    Hi Dave Having a play with blender and following some basic tutorials. I played with the cube and went to export to .mdl but got a window come up with error message Cheers Rhys
  16. R

    Newbie question regarding Blender 3.6.0

    Hi Dave Thank you for that . I am so used to removing folders from zip folders that after re reading your post and placing the zip file in a new location, I was able to install the addon-on and the export mdl know appears Cheers very much Rhys
  17. R

    Newbie question regarding Blender 3.6.0

    Hi Dave I think user error on my part. I need to open the folder and click on the individual files to install them. Rhys
  18. R

    Newbie question regarding Blender 3.6.0

    Hi Thank you for that. I clicked on addon install but nothing has installed in the script addon folder I have the sdk installed as I use object placement Cheers Rhys
  19. R

    Newbie question regarding Blender 3.6.0

    Hi all I have downloaded the latest version of blender to have a go at simple object creation for fsx se. I have downloaded the tool set I assume is for the latest version and gone to preference, install and navigated to the folder Blender2P3DFSV. Clicking on file and looking at the export...
  20. R

    SimConnect for FSXse

    Hi all I'm wanting to download simconnect and wondering if someone could point me in the right direction for the simconnect download files for FSX se Cheers Rhys
Back
Top