Some success!
This object was not listed when I loaded the .bgl directly into MCX. Most of the objects were in the list (as shown in George's post) but not this and not the orange marker buoys for the water runway.
To get around this I generated a .sca file using BGLAnalyze 3.1 and when this was loaded into MSX a more complete list of objects was produced.
I then loaded the .mdl file for the cabin into the MCX wizard using corrected coordinates. Now I have two cabins! How do I remove the original waterlogged one? Just a simple exclude?
Hi John:
In MCX on the Options Tab under Importer Settings, if I set:
* Replace User Variables = False
* Use Conditions = AlwaysTrue
...When the BGLAnalyse31 minchumina.sca file is imported, I get
15 objects.
In MCX on the Options Tab under Importer Settings, if I set:
* Replace User Variables = False
* Use Conditions = AlwaysFalse
...When the BGLAnalyse31 minchumina.sca file is imported, I get
57 objects.
Note, however, at the bottom of minchumina.sca (on line #100898 in "
ConTEXT"), one can see that BGLAnalyze31 states there are actually
59 "objects" defined in the SCASM code, yet MCX reports/renders only 57 of them.
Possibly Arno could comment on this mis-match of objects listed/defined versus objects rendered by MCX, and advise us on what we might do in these situations ?
FYI: One can open that minchumina.sca file in the excellent freeware "
ConTEXT" editor for easier viewing / editing:
http://www.contexteditor.org/
For line numbering (helpful with longer SCASM *.sca file decompilations under discussion here), I configure:
ConTEXT Menu > Options > Environment Options > Editor Tab > "check"
Line numbers checkbox
For customized color file format display in ConTEXT with SCASM, I configure:
ConTEXT Menu > Tools > Set Highlighter > x86 Assembler
NOTE: A
copy of C:\Program Files\ConTEXT\Highlighters\x86 Assembler.chl
...renamed to:
C:\Program Files\ConTEXT\Highlighters\SCASM.chl
...can be edited (
ex: in ConTEXT or another editor) to yield custom color definitions for the ConTEXT highlighter feature.
Once a
*.chl file is copied/renamed/customized and placed into the C:\Program Files\ConTEXT\Highlighters\ sub-folder, ConTEXT auto-toggle of color highlight mode by file extension opened can be configured via:
ConTEXT Menu > Tools > Set Highlighter > Customize Types > SCASM
BTW: Browsing objects MCX which successfully renders in 3D Preview with the forward/back arrows should reveal scenery objects defined within the SCASM file.
NOTE: The MCX reported/rendered objects appear in the top-to-bottom order in which they are listed in the SCASM code as viewed in a text editor (
ex: ConTEXT").
Perhaps this may assist in locating specific objects in question.
One can load and display the MCX exported objects (from MDLs or MDLs packaged into FS scenery object library BGLs) if they are "placed" via XML code compiled via BGLComp into placement BGLs, assuming both the source MDLs/library BGLs and placement BGLs are all in "active" \Scenery sub-folders in the FS Scenery Library stack of Area layers
Be aware that if the original source SCASM BGLs containing the objects are
also loading because they are still in "active" \Scenery sub-folders in the FS Scenery Library stack of Area layers, one may have duplicate objects displayed.
IMHO, this might better be solved by using only the newly exported MDLs (placed via XML code) in the updated version of your minchumina scenery project, although one also
can edit the SCASM code (
ex: to remove un-wanted objects) in the minchumina.sca file, and re-compile it to a BGL via SCASM for concurrent use with ones new FS9 format BGLs.
PS: Have you yet solved the issue in your most recent post to this thread immediately above... with regard to Effects placement ?
An example placement of a FS *.FX file placement via XML is seen here; note that different FS "Effect" parameters would be used for control of seasonal smoke display, and in some cases an additional "Controller" *.FX file may be used with the "Basic" *.FX file to allow greater control of FS Effect display parameters:
http://www.fsdeveloper.com/forum/showpost.php?p=234758&postcount=46
Also, be aware that one of the 3 legacy format Nova smoke *.FX files caused problems with FS9, and use of a alternative (default or 3rd party) smoke "Effect" file is advisable.
Hope this helps !
GaryGB