• Which the release of FS2020 we see an explosition of activity on the forun and of course we are very happy to see this. But having all questions about FS2020 in one forum becomes a bit messy. So therefore we would like to ask you all to use the following guidelines when posting your questions:

    • Tag FS2020 specific questions with the MSFS2020 tag.
    • Questions about making 3D assets can be posted in the 3D asset design forum. Either post them in the subforum of the modelling tool you use or in the general forum if they are general.
    • Questions about aircraft design can be posted in the Aircraft design forum
    • Questions about airport design can be posted in the FS2020 airport design forum. Once airport development tools have been updated for FS2020 you can post tool speciifc questions in the subforums of those tools as well of course.
    • Questions about terrain design can be posted in the FS2020 terrain design forum.
    • Questions about SimConnect can be posted in the SimConnect forum.

    Any other question that is not specific to an aspect of development or tool can be posted in the General chat forum.

    By following these guidelines we make sure that the forums remain easy to read for everybody and also that the right people can find your post to answer it.

need help with gmax export problom

Messages
123
Country
ireland
Hi lad's
I have that old problom again "gmax wont let me export my model".
what happying is that my pc crash so i got it sorted and work great know and i reload gmax and all the other file's i need and followed this setup i found on the wed.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

"The flight simulator games use a similar format to the x file. An extra option in the tools allow you to export as the X format - right into 3D rad. I will cover this in my own tutorial video on the process soon. You can already find many other documents and videos [2] [3] [4] [5] already on Gmax/Max. The videos on youtube are ok, the max videos are slightly better.... If you need a better one, let me know and I will create one.

Ok, This process is kinda tricky, but if you follow it exactly it works like a charm!


__________________________New Way: By Shdemar____________________________

Superfast .x export installation.
Save the hassle of configuring the plugins.

Installing
---------
1. DL gmax at TurboSquid
2. Install/register
3. Unrar http://rad-addict.com/gmax_plugins.rar into the plugins folder

Exporting
---------
4. File->Export, Save as MDL (FlightSim Aircraft Object), click Save, Click GO!!




__________________________Old Way____________________________

Get the 3D progam:
Download Gmax from www.turbosquid.com/gmax

Exporter Installation (http://screenracer.com/3drad/gmax/)

There are several plug-ins required to export .X files from gmax:

1. First download the ‘Gmax gamepack SDK’ found at this link: http://screenracer.com/3drad/gmax/ FlightSimulator exporter plugin[/url]. Size is about 15Mb. Although only 3 files are actually needed, they are not available as separate downloads, so unfortunately you’ll need to download the whole thing.

2. Next, download programs 'http://screenracer.com/3drad/gmax/' and 'http://screenracer.com/3drad/gmax/'.

3. After download, you’ll see that the 'fs2004_sdk-gmax-setup' is an exe. If you install it in the default gmax directory, you’ll end up with a lot of extra stuff that you don’t need. So create a new folder somewhere on your hard drive and install it there.

4. When done, open the folder, go to gamepacks > fs2004 > plugins. And copy all 3 files: 'FSModelExp.dle', 'makemdl.exe' and 'makemdl.parts.xml' to your main ../gmax/plugins folder.

5. You need to rename two of the files. Right click on 'makemdl.exe' and rename it to to 'mkmdl.exe'. Then right click on 'makemdl.parts.xml' and rename it to 'mkmdl.parts.xml' (without the quotes).

6. Next, unzip 'MDLCommander.zip'. Then copy 'mdlcommander.exe' to your main ../gmax/plugins folder. This file also needs to be renamed. Right click on 'mdlcommander.exe' and rename it to 'makem.exe'.

7. Finally, unzip 'Middleman13beta3.zip'. Then copy 'makemdl.exe' to your main ../gmax/plugins folder. That’s it, you’re done!
Using

To convert your gmax model to .X format. Go to ‘File > Export’ and select ‘Flightsim Aircraft Object (.MDL) from the file type dropdown. Type in a filename and click Save. The Middleman dialog window should now appear. Click the ‘Options’ tab and check ‘SaveXFile’ (this saves the x file) and ‘nocompile’ (this tells mdlcommander to only create an .X file not mdl/bgl). Then click the GO button.

After a few seconds the dialog will close and your newly exported .X model should be in the directory where you saved it to. "

..................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................

But when i go to export any scenery objacted that i have done....i get getting the same message " makemdl was not found,or failed to convert the model specified in 'c:\gmax\meshes\eikn airport' to a.mdl file. check your system path to ensure makemdl is on it.'' i've done that and makemdl is there.....
is it somthing i have done wrong ????
i had this problom before,but just foregot how to sort it out.....
ANY HELP would begreatful lads ,as i'm trying to finish of the three irish airport's Galway, Knock & Donegal airport.

king regards
keith
 
Last edited:
Gmax questions are best placed in the Gmax forum....

The Downloads section of FSDeveloper has the Fs2004 gmax SDK. I would use that to setup the gmax gamepack folder.

Moving files to other folders is a bunch of rubbish. Ths SDK installation will take care of the proper folders, and I believe will place a shortcut to the gamepack on the desktop. If you don't install it properly then expect it not to work right.

Gmax can be installed to "Program Files" in WindowsXP.. maybe better to install it to "C:\FS_Tools" if in Vista or Windows7.

The SDK will create a "gamepacks" folder within the gmax root folder. Within that folder will be the "fs2004" folder, and within that folder will be a FS2004 shortcut for starting Gmax correctly, using the gamepack. Get all that right before messing with model commander. Actually, you don't need the x files or ModelCommander at all,

If you want to use the ASM files, or x files, you can load the mdl into Arno's ModelConverterX.

Dick
 
Last edited:
do you mean Fs2004 gmax SDK in The Downloads section of FSDeveloper ,as i looked and could not see any Fs2005 gmax sdk download. will i only need this download or do i need any other one....:confused:
 
Your initial post seems to lose sight of exactly what you want to do.

Do you specifically need X-files for manipulation?
Do you just want to export FS2004 models?

The instructions you cut-pasted are to install Modelcommander to capture the X-file. This is not necessary if you are simply making 3D models with Gmax. in this case:
1) Install Gmax
2) Install the SDK as per the wiki directions. (there is no 2005 anything, that was just a typo)

If you NEED access to X-files, then you may wish to install modelcommander .. but perhaps get the first bit working before you make it more complicated ??!
 
i need to export 3d model to fs2004.
so all i need to do is to
1) Install Gmax
2) Install the SDK as per the wiki directions.

it just that it is doing my head in trying to get it to work
 
Back
Top